ad: QuirkyQRP-1

Followers

Discussion in 'QRZ Site Community Help Center' started by N0XVZ, Nov 25, 2023.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. N0XVZ

N0XVZ Ham Member QRZ Page

Recently, I had a random ham start "following" me. I lurk here more than I post, so I'm not a prominent community member. I know it's common on forums to have followers, but I find it a little creepy. Is there a way to remove or block unwanted followers?

N9WFT likes this.
  2. K8VHL

K8VHL Moderator Emeritus Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

He's a new ham from a country where "following" can be interpreted as a sign of respect. He's currently following 728 hams, including me. I guess you and I are not special. :(:(

N9WFT and W7UUU like this.
  3. W7UUU

W7UUU Director, QRZ Forums Lifetime Member 133 QRZ HQ Staff Life Member QRZ Page

There's no way to block them. At least not in the current version of the XenForo forums software. Maybe in a future update (coming this winter).

But it's totally harmless really. It just makes it so they can click on "My News Feed" and see posts from users they follow.

Outside of that, it means absolutely nothing

Dave
    W7UUU

N9WFT likes this.
  4. WJ4U

WJ4U Ham Member QRZ Page

Googlebot is Following me :cool:

N3RYB likes this.
  5. N9WFT

N9WFT Ham Member QRZ Page

Recently I was followed by a Ham from Turkey. And I get it. It felt a little creepy to me also.

I sent him a PM, and he did not respond to it. I know he has been on the Zed, so he almost had to get it.....Prior to sending him a PM here, I sent him a greeting of sorts by signing in on his Web guest list deal. The individual I am speaking of lists his vocation as Personal Security...

I found it weird that he is/ was following me, and did reply to any of the correspondence I sent him here. It kinda felt like he was stalking me.