ad: elecraft

Why the hell am I "waiting for facebook" when I load a QRZ page????

Discussion in 'QRZ Site Community Help Center' started by WA7ARK, Oct 15, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Radclub22-2
  1. WA7ARK

WA7ARK Ham Member QRZ Page

Title says it all!

This morning, loading QRZ forum pages is particularly slow. If I look at the bottom of my Firefox frame, I see the message "waiting for facebook" while nothing is happening.

Why should QRZ.com be loading anything from (or uploading anything to) Facebook in the first place? The reason I hang out on QRZ is to avoid having anything to do with Facebook!

2. KA0HCP

KA0HCP XML Subscriber QRZ Page

"Ask Firefox".

3. K2CD

K2CD Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Facebook is ubiquitous. Possibly Look for a firefox plugin to block these attempts, or try a different browser.

4. N0TZU

N0TZU Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

I doubt it’s QRZ’s fault.

I’m no internet expert, but it’s probably a targeted ad tracker from FB that’s being served slowly because of some FB problem. From what I understand it’s worse if you are still logged into FB, even if the browser doesn’t have any tab open to FB and the open tab is unrelated. Some browsers are good about sandboxing each tab, some aren’t. Some can block third party trackers, some can’t. Some add-ins can do it too.

Hopefully someone with much more knowledge in the field will comment.

5. WA7ARK

WA7ARK Ham Member QRZ Page

Here is what FireFox claims it does:
    upload_2021-10-15_17-9-55.png

Is it lying?

I do not have any accounts I am aware of on any of the "social media" sites.

6. N0TZU

Try raising the level of protection in Firefox and see if it helps. Supposedly FB expends a lot of money and effort to stay a step ahead of these protections.

7. W9YW

W9YW Moderator Emeritus QRZ Page

Facebook has nothing to do with QRZ and vice-versa.