ad: elecraft

HAM: The Next Generation

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by KD7NEW, Oct 5, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
  1. KD7NEW

KD7NEW Ham Member QRZ Page

Since I was 12, I was always interested in having my voice travel over air. It astonished me  that people could hear music in their cars by tuning into "thin air!" I became facinated  with my uncle's CB radio in his pickup. One day, when I was about 14 or 15, we were taking  care of some spring cleaning (taking a truckload of things to the local dump, actually) and  I saw his CB in there again. I started playing with it, and that's when he told me about his  radio that was "lifetimes better" than any CB. He started to tell me about "ham radio." Now,  I had heard the term before, but I never had a basic understanding about what it was.

A few days later, he took me into his shack. We sat down, and I was amazed at the amount of  electronics that surrounded me. He proceded to flip a bunch of switches, turned a dial, and  soon he started talking into the mic. "CQ CQ CQ This is K7AZG... Kilo-Seven-Alfa-Zulu-Golf  calling CQ CQ CQ.." and so on. Pretty soon, someone answered back... From UTAH! Now, mind  you, I was very young at the time, not to mention this was my first experience with ham  radio, but all I knew was that I never talked to anyone in Utah on a CB!

Well, years went by, and I was determined to get my ham radio licence. I studied and I  studied, but could never get my licence because 1) I had no transportation, and 2) I lived  out in the middle of nowhere. Eventually, when I was 18, I hurried and crammed for my  no-code tech (Going into it, I was ready for my code, but I choked). I passed my written  exam far better than I thought I would! Yes! I had my ticket!