ad: CQMM-1

DXCC & Offshore Oil Platforms

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by Guest, May 28, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
  1. Guest

Guest Guest

My name is Martin Lewis, I'm 31 years old and my home call is MW0BRO (Wales). My profession is a Radio Operator on oil rigs. I've been operating from them ever since I got my licence in 1998. I started work on a new rig in February 2000 offshore Bioko Island, Equatorial Guinea. Bureaucracy dictated that I did not get my 3C5J callsign until just recently over 1 year later.

Editor's Note: Please see attached poll.

It is my opinion that the platform I am on should be counted as part of 3C for DXCC purposes as it is 3C for every other reason you could think of, law, geography etc. The ARRL/DXCC have said it does not, but I do not feel that they have given proper consideration to the facts.

My reasoning why it should count is as follows. There are 3 main different types of oil rigs :

1. Jack-up Drilling Rig - this is a MODU (Mobile Offshore Drilling Unit) which is registered as a ship and is supported by usually 3 legs which can be raised and lowered to allow the rig to move from one location to another i.e. Maritime Mobile.

2. Semi-submersible Drilling Rig - this is also a MODU and is also registered as a ship. As the name suggest though, it is what is known as a 'floater' as it is semi-submersed and floats on the water and is held in place by usually 8 anchors which again can be pulled back to the rig so the rig can move to another location i.e. Maritime Mobile.

3. Production platform - after a 'jack-up' or a 'semi' has drilled some wells and made an oil or gas discovery a 'production platform' is built on the spot to produce the hydrocarbons. This platform once in place cannot be moved. It is permanently secured deep into the seabed and once there is there to stay i.e. NOT Maritime Mobile