ad: wmr-1

QRZ Temporarily Shut Down by Amazon Web Services Outage

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by AA7BQ, Oct 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Radclub22-2
  1. KF7PCL

KF7PCL Ham Member QRZ Page

LOL
    The only real loss is the lack of a call sign lookup.

2. N0AMT

N0AMT Ham Member QRZ Page

First, I don't know where you get "constantly babble" from, considering I never have. (Look through my post history, see for yourself)

Second, I work in IT security. For whom? The Department of Defense. Maybe this helps you understand why it's important to me that people keep their mouths shut. Try making a living attempting to help make the DoD networks more secure, only to have people undermine your work by telling everybody "Hey, look! Their system is down! All hands on deck and attack!" or, if he was correct, and it was in fact down due to some malicious attack "Hey look! It's back up now, but whatever you did worked!"

Let me say, no systems went down that I know of, I'm not important enough to have insight into that, but even if they did, we shouldn't be telling everyone. It may not be a matter of national security, but it IS a matter of common sense.

It's almost like telling your opinion of the worst way to die to the serial killer who is about to murder you... Don't make no stinkin' sense!

We can agree to disagree, that's fine, but this is what I do for a living, so forgive me if I come across as over-passionate.

3. KF7PCL

Ok this appears to be true. I am just tired of government officials constantly using that excue.
    In that case, it appears that it is indeed partially your problem.

I apologize for using false assumptions, it is not a good practice.