ad: hrd-2

Your opinion: Wireless "phone patch" via Cellular.

Discussion in 'Amplitude Modulation' started by N6YW, Sep 25, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: QSOToday-1
ad: Subscribe
  1. N6YW

N6YW Ham Member Volunteer Moderator QRZ Page

A few years ago I was a net control operator for the Collins Collectors Net on 3895 khz.
    One of our members, Werner Vavken WB6RAW was on vacation and traveling without
    HF in his vehicle. To facilitate his checking into the net, I called him on my cellphone
    and used the speaker in the phone to transmit his received audio, into the microphone.
    We used the term "break" to disengage between RX & TX, thus allowing him to copy my
    receiver audio. It worked very well and it was such a hoot not having to deal with a traditional
    landline. It was novel to be sure and quite effective.

So, this begs the question. Is it true wireless even though certain landline channels are used
    throughout the system even if the original signal was wireless? The cellphone being
    essentially a radio on both ends of the conversation being interfaced with another radio
    (HF rig) is pretty much wireless don't you think? The next question is, what would be
    the interpretation (in your minds) of the FCC rules as it relates to the amateur service and this
    use of cellphones depicted in this story? Werner is a ham, so he isn't really third party traffic
    is he? Certainly an unlicensed person would have to be announced as third party traffic.
    I am curious as to your opinions on this. Interpreting the rules in this case is interesting.
    73 de Billy N6YW

2. KC4YLV

KC4YLV Ham Member QRZ Page