You views on an off center fed 80-10m

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by 2E0LPL, Jun 20, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: FBNews-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
  1. 2E0LPL

2E0LPL Ham Member QRZ Page

I have spent a week trying to get an inverted L to radiate but I am just about to give up.

Its tunes up well on all bands inc 160m and its 38m long.

At first I grounded it via 4 copper rod spread out in a line...gets out but poorly...unhooked them and tried a 38mt counterpoint same very little getting out...still tunes well...its fed via 16mts of coax.

So looks like I will have ditch the inverted L and forget about using 160m for now and make do with 80m...which is my second fav band after 160m.

So I am now considering an off-center fed windom style dipole 40mtrs long for 80-10m.

I have no experience with this type of antenna and would love to hear your views on how well they perform.

I have a choice of bare copper wire for the elements or polyweave....my gut instinct is toward bare copper.

So guys how does an off-center dipole perform say on 40m with a center-fed dipole cut for 40m...I have one of those up now and it does a good job....and polyweave or bare copper?

Nick.

2. WA7ARK

WA7ARK Ham Member QRZ Page

I have never been able to tell any difference between horizontal wire antennas made of uninsulated wire vs insulated wire, except that insulated wires end up slightly (~1 to 2%) shorter than bare wires to achieve resonance...

Is the interest in OCF motivated by anything other than having the antenna work on both 80m and 40 without a tuner? The reality is that you will need a tuner to utilize the width of the 80m band; you cant escape that!

If you use a tuner, the best place to locate the tuner is at the antenna, and then run coax from the station to the tuner... This requrires an expensive remote, weather-resistant tuner.