ad: k1jek

YO-100 with positively charged case!

Discussion in '"Boat Anchor" & Classic Equipment' started by KI7WQH, May 19, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
  1. KI7WQH

KI7WQH Ham Member QRZ Page

oh the joys of buying things on ebay. So I was pretty excited when I first powered up my yo-100 scope and saw that the CRT was working and everything seemed to be in order... ...but I was less excited when I felt what seemed like a mild shock when i touched the back of the case. I broke out the voltmeter and sure enough there were about 6 volts or so running through the case. I opened her up again and I don't see any obvious issues so I've downloaded the manual and it's time to start troubleshooting.

As you can probably tell by all my recent posts asking questions I'm rather new to this. I was a computer tech when I was younger and my dad was an electrical engineer that had my brother and I building simple stuff when we were kids and I've restored electro-mechanical pinball machines but I am mostly a software guy in my professional experience. This dive into ham radio that is driven by my compulsion to preserve these old radios and the story they tell of what I see as the first "internet" is going to be a bumpy road so I really appreciate the help I've received on this forum.

I hardly expect that anyone will know what the problem is off the top of their head and I'm probably just writing this to put off having to go through the intimidating schematic, but if there is a methodology or some words of wisdom you would like to impart, now is the time! "fixing" the ft-101 has been simple thanks to the removable boards but the guts of this thing is quite a messy mass of wires and components.

Sorry for the "blog post" I'm off to test circuits!

2. KA9JLM

KA9JLM Ham Member QRZ Page

You should check C28 and C29, And install a grounded AC cord.

Have Fun.

KI7WQH and K7TRF like this.
  3. K7TRF