ad: w5yi

[Yaesu_FT-450D] Program MH-31A8J Mic

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by N0WE, Apr 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. N0WE

N0WE Ham Member QRZ Page

I am new to the Yaesu FT-450D. Just bought a used rig and have questions about programming the mic. I have been told that you can program the up, fast and down buttons to do the CS/Voice button functions. Is that true? If so could someone explain how this is done? If I use the built in voice keyer I would like to use one of the mic keys to activate the keyer. I would make it easier and would cut down on wear and tear to the button on the rig.

Jim N0WE

2. W9GB

W9GB Ham Member QRZ Page

Yaesu FT-450D Product Page, with Electronic copies of Owner's Manual
    http://www.yaesu.com/indexVS.cfm?cm...02&encProdID=870B3CA7CFCB61E6A599B0EFEA2217E4

Front Panel functionality outlines on pages 2-6.
    C.S/Voice switch settings (configuration) explained on Page 16.
    Usage of the MH-31a8j microphone outlined on page 20.
    Voice Memory Function outlined on Page 44.
    Menu Mode explanation on pages 78-87.

The current Yaesu FT-450D supersedes the original FT-450 and FT-450AT models that have been discontinued, and changes the following:

• Internal tuner standard
    • Illuminated key buttons
    • Display color no longer selectable
    • 300 Hz / 500 Hz / 2.4 kHz CW IF filters
    • Front feet stands
    • "Classically-designed" main dial and knobs (IF Shift, DSP/Select, Tuning, SQL/RF Gain & AF Gain)
    • The MH-67A8J hand microphone is replaced with the Yaesu MH-31A8J hand microphone
    ==
    The Yaesu MH-31a8j microphone is a simple elecret microphone with buttons -- no electronics inside (dumb mic).
    All programming / functionality changes of the microphone buttons is performed inside the FT-450D.

Yaesu MH-31a8j microphone
    Technical Supplement