Yaesu VX-7R w/ Data?

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by AC2RF, Mar 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. AC2RF

AC2RF Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm new to the hobby and picked up a Yaesu VX-7R HT as my first 6m/2m/70cm radio. Been playing with the repeaters a bit, but I'm very much interested in low power DX'ing via Satellite, Sporadic E skip, and Meteor Scatter on 6m. Reading up on these DX sources Data modes like MSFK, PSK31, and WSJT are common methods for communcation. Reading the manual for the VX-7R if you have the CT-91 Microphone adapter you can link the VX-7R to your computer so I picked it up.

Unfortunately here I'm at a loss. How do I use this adapter to hook up my VX-7R to my sound card on my laptop? My Google-Fu has been weak on this subject.

2. KE5SWU

KE5SWU Ham Member QRZ Page

With that setup to do packet you would have to use VOX for PTT control. But I don't know now how much luck you will have there is not alot of digital FM traffic. MSFK, PSK31, and WSJT are most often used with sideband, which the radio can't do, but I am pretty new to the hobby so others might have more info. I to have a VX-7R and hope to pick up a arrow antenna for it shortly so I can work satellites. I really like the radio.

3. K0RGR

K0RGR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

The VX-7R and a number of other Yaesu HT's have a single plug for a speaker-mike and other functions. The CT-91 breaks this out into separate jacks, so you can use one of the common speaker mikes with a two-pin connector with it.