ad: MorseNin-1

Why Lousy Signal to Noise? I'm using a NooDElect SDR & Upconveter

Discussion in 'Software Defined Radio (SDR)' started by K4BDA, Nov 7, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: L-Geochron
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
  1. K4BDA

K4BDA Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm new to SDR and have a NooElect R820T SDR & DVB-T and a NooElect Upconverter aka Ham It Up

I'm using SDRsharp software and I have it all working on HF and above.

I'm using a wire antenna that goes out the door by my desk and runs about 30 feet along the ceiling of our front porch.

On 75, 40, and 20 meters the noise floor is the same level as the ham radio signals. I can barely hear the stations because of the high noise or because of the low signal level.

1 - Any tips on how to get more of the radio signal into the radio?
    2 - I'm wondering if the high noise level is coming from my computer... the SDR is plugged directly into the USB connector on the front of the PC. What do you think?
    3 - Any tips welcome.
    Thanks for the help.

2. N6YWU

N6YWU Ham Member QRZ Page

There are at least 3 strikes against your setup.
    1) The NooElect RTL-SDR device only has a 8-bit ADC, which has a fairly high quantization noise floor. Other SDR dongles (Airspy, SDRPlay, Lime, etc.) can sample more bits and thus have better S/N performance.
    2) Your antenna on the porch is likely too near EMI/RFI sources inside the house.
    3) Your antenna is too low to have much gain in the direction of interesting signals. Low wires tend to have a near vertical pattern.

First thing I'd try is running coax to an antenna higher and farther away from electronic noise (appliances, chargers, LED lights, solar panels, etc.). Or, if you have a portable laptop computer, you can try taking your NooElect and antenna wire to a park away from power lines and houses, and throw the wire up into a tree.