Why all the theory on the higher level tests?

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KC2UYZ, Feb 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
ad: Subscribe
  1. KC2UYZ

KC2UYZ Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm curious as to why there is so much emphasis on electronics theory on the tests above the technician class? Is it just an artifact of the original testing process? I can't find a good corollary between my knowing more about electronics and being able to transmit on more frequencies. I have to believe that a great percentage of new HAMs will never open the case on their shiny, new, expensive radios and are more interested in the social aspect of the hobby than the electromechanical side.

What do you think?

2. N1RKW

N1RKW Ham Member QRZ Page

Oh, I don't know. Within a month of getting my license (I studied hard and passed both tech and general in one shot) I found myself repairing my radio. I also had to build my own power supply and antenna system. My case may be unusual, but not all of us get shiny new rigs when we get our tickets. I'm glad I had to learn some theory, it was helpful almost right away. Now I'm studying to upgrade to extra, which is, of course, thick with theory and technical jargon.
    My feeling is that the tech exam should be focused on operating procedures, and the general and extra should pretty much stay as they are.

3. KL7AJ

KL7AJ XML Subscriber QRZ Page

And this perfectly demonstrates the vast chasm in the fundamental reason the current generation of hams are in the hobby from the traditional ham. If you read part 97, which delineates why we exist as radio amateurs, a SIGNIFICANT point of that is "Advancing the radio art." How can hams advance the radio art without electronics theory?

If I couldn't contribute to technical knowledge, I wouldn't be in the hobby.

Period.

eric

4. K1VSK

K1VSK Ham Member QRZ Page