Which software for PSK31 decodes best?

Discussion in 'Working Different Modes' started by WF7BSR, Jul 3, 2015.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-Geochron
  1. WF7BSR

WF7BSR Ham Member QRZ Page

I've been searching through the internet and most opinions/reviews for the various software seem to focus on how easy it is to use, or how easy it is to configure/hook-up the interface and the radio/computer, etc. -- but I haven't seen much discussion regarding whether some decode better than others?

I just started using Digipan yesterday, and have only made 4 contacts thus far, so I am just starting to learn about the digital modes. Are there any differences amongst the various software pkgs. available in regards to how well they decode and how well they handle weak signals, etc.?

Thank you for your time and assistance.

2. K7MEM

K7MEM Ham Member QRZ Page

I have used Digipan, HRD, and Fldigi. For PSK, I haven't found that one software does any better than another. Weak signal handling is really up to your receiver. If you can get to the waterfall without too much noise, any of them will do a fair job of decoding.

IMHO, the big difference between the software is features. For example, Digipan is good but only has PSK capabilities. Whereas, HRD has rig control, logging, multiple mode capability (DM780), propagation information, etc.. Its a full featured piece of software. The new version (6.x) is licensed, but the old free versions (5.x) are still available. So it really comes down to, what features do you like.