Which bands for beginners??

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by KC6DXN, Jan 27, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KC6DXN

KC6DXN Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello there,

I have been a general-class operator for 5 years now, since receiving my ticket back in 2010. I have decided I am not as chatty on the airwaves as I once was. I am 50...therefore I am NOT retired / have not had my hip replaced / do not take blood-pressure medication -yet. So, I do not seem to have a lot to chat about, compared to what I usually hear on the morning rag-chews & such. This is why CW has been of increasing interest to me. I do have the equipment:

• Begali HST mated to an IC-7200 or TS-850 SAT for home, speaking to a G5RV in an inverted-V.
    • QRP field kit, with a Vibroplex Brass-Racer mated to a very old K-1 (s/n-391), speaking to a JPC-7 (buddypole clone).
    My question is what seems to be the best bands to take CW baby-steps on? I am primarily concerned with my K-1, since it has fixed bands. It is currently configured for 15m & 80m...which is a bit odd. I am looking to have Elecraft send me out a new KFL1-2 board. Their options are: 80, 40, 30, 20, 17, 15. I would just swap in the new board as a permanent solution; choosing not to keep the other board.

Sooo, any advice is appreciated!! If 80m & 15m is good, then I am set. If not, then would like to hear what your opinions are. Thanks!!

VK5EEE likes this.
  2. AG6QR

AG6QR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page