where to start in HF?

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by KX6MWS, Dec 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: FBNews-1
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
  1. KX6MWS

KX6MWS Ham Member QRZ Page

Currently I have a Tech license, and am going to take the General test really soon. (I've pass the practice test consistently) As a tech, I'm already allowed to operate some HF on CW (which I don't know yet), and also have limited phone on 10 meters, but haven't done anything with it yet. Hopefully this weekend I'll be upgraded to General; Is 10 meters still a good place to start? I don't have a lot of money available for a multi-band multi-mode rig. I think my options are pretty much:

- Buy a single band ssb transceiver. Which band?

- Build a single band CW kit. (I'm comfortable putting together electronics). I don't know CW yet, but I could probably hook it up to my computer. (Or just de-lazy my brain and start learning it.)

- Get a working 'boat anchor' that does everything on the cheap.

2. AF6LJ

AF6LJ Ham Member QRZ Page

You could pick up a used HF radio from the eighties for under $400.00.
    I would ask;
    What do you want to do on HF?
    Knowing that buy yourself an entry level radio for what you want to do.

3. 2E0OZI

2E0OZI Ham Member QRZ Page

Thats about the best answer you can get! It depends on where your interests lie - mine are HF from 40 to 10 with a bit of 80 sometimes. I don't contest or seriously spend hours in the chair looking for DX, but I'm happy if I get a new country! And I like to have more of an exchange than "59 73".

I make my own antennas - its fun give it a try. And pretty cheap too. Dipoles are dead easy to make.

4. WA4OTD

WA4OTD Ham Member QRZ Page