Where to begin?

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by KC3GQX, May 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
  1. KC3GQX

KC3GQX Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello, I am new to ham radio, so new in fact that I haven't even gotten my license yet but I plan to when I return home from college for the summer. I was wondering what kind of equipment to buy. I am interested in the HF bands so I was considering going right for my general class. Is this allowed? Also the reason I am interested in the HF bands is that I am worried I will end up buying a 2m radio and there wont be anyone to talk to. However, there is a repeater / radio club about 20-30 miles away from where I live. What kind of range could I have using the repeater and could I even reach the repeater with a 5 watt handheld? In case you were wondering I was thinking about getting either a handheld or an HF base unit. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank-you!

2. N9YB

N9YB QRZ Administrator QRZ Page

3. W6ONV

W6ONV Ham Member QRZ Page

Don't jump at a 5w HT, especially if you want to get involved in HF. Even as a Technician, you have access to the HF bands, not the entire frequency allocation, but portions of some of them.

Aside from studying for your exams, I would do some research, as there is a wealth of information available on the Internet. In my experience I did not have a good time when I joined a local club here. For me, it was nothing for than a clique and there seemed to be a real push for emergency communications, which was not was I was interested in.

More recently I joined a contest club, which was much more in line with interests and in less than a year I have learned a considerable amount with regards to bands, propagation, working DX and all the fun that goes along with HF. Even learned CW!