What's the story with end-fed antenna's?

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KI7QVR, Feb 27, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KI7QVR

KI7QVR XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Hello. I'm a new ham. I got my Tech. in October and my Extra early Feb. I'm not completely new to RF, radios or electronics in general as I studied electronics across the gamut many moons ago at a trade school...that was in 1981.

So, on to my question. As I understand, an antenna tuner doesn't actually "tune" the antenna at all; it simply presents a load to the radio that won't cause it to fry. The losses between the tuner and the antenna still exist. The SWR along the feed line/antenna don't change; just the SWR that the radio "sees". I get all that, but here's the rub...

I was chatting with some folks on a net one day and they were talking about end-fed long/random wires. I pointed out the losses incurred, even with a tuner and somebody said, "you need to read up on end-fed antennas; those rules don't apply to end-fed". I didn't ask him to clarify, so I'm asking now, is there a difference? For instances, are the same losses incurred when matching a 4:1 SWR into a vertical vs. matching a 4:1 SWR into an end-fed? Please explain.

Brian, KI7QVR

2. KL7AJ

KL7AJ Ham Member QRZ Page

You got bad information here. Read this article. "My Feedline Tunes My Antenna" I've posted this a dozen times on the Zed, but folks don't seem to get the message.....so I'll keep reposting it periodically until I croak, I guess

Attached Files:

WB5YUZ, N0TZU and NH7RO like this.
  3. WA7ARK

WA7ARK Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi Brian,