What's the difference between a bridge rectifier and a rheostat?

Discussion in 'Radio Circuits, Repair & Performance' started by ELECTRONERD122, Feb 25, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
  1. ELECTRONERD122

ELECTRONERD122 QRZ Member

I started learning the ropes of electronics just a few weeks ago and my question may sound stupid for a pro like you, but I’m still going to test my luck and - hopefully - somebody here will help me out. Thin is, I’ve been trying to figure out the difference between a bridge rectifier and a rheostat. When it comes to bridge rectifiers I guess I mostly understand how it works...

What’s the biggest conceptual difference between the two? Thanks

K1LKP likes this.
  2. WA0YDE

WA0YDE Ham Member QRZ Page

Do a search....basic electronics. Lots of info online. Get a handbook also.

PU2OZT, K1LKP and AJ4GQ like this.
  3. W1NB

W1NB XML Subscriber QRZ Page

They are two very different components. A rheostat is generally a variable resistor, that is a resistor who's value can be changed by some mechanical or electronic means.

A bridge rectifier is an array of four diodes that converts alternating current (AC) into direct current. In a basic sense, diodes allow current to pass in one direction but blocks current from passing in the opposite direction. So, a bridge rectifier is a combination of four diodes that are configured to allow the current to pass in only one direction, converting AC to DC. The difference between a bridge and a single diode (half wave rectifier) or a two diode array (full wave rectifier), is that the additional diodes allow both the positive going and negative going peaks of a sine wave to be added to the DC, directly decreasing the amount of filtering needed to make the rectified AC smooth, rippleless DC, and indirectly increasing the current capability and, to a degree, its resulting DC voltage.