What's the best straight key for a newbie to code?

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by VA3AEX, Aug 24, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: K3QNTad-1
ad: L-rfparts
ad: Subscribe
  1. VA3AEX

VA3AEX Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm just getting started in learning code. I have Ham Morse app installed on my iPhone, but also want to practice actually sending code. What's a good straight key to start with? My focus will be on portable and backpacking/qrp. 73 Alex

2. W6OGC

W6OGC Ham Member QRZ Page

Have a look at http://electronicsusa.com/mk.html

These are not very good keys. You would not be likely to use one for home station use, but they are small and light, maybe more important in your application.

3. N8AFT

N8AFT Subscriber QRZ Page

Palm radio makes a mini straight and a single lever paddle that can be used as a straight key/sideswiper.
    Bought mine from Morse Express. Very happy with them and they retract into their own protective housing for transport.

4. VA3VF

VA3VF Guest

I think it's best to focus on receiving, sending is easy in comparison. Also, learning on a straight key, may make it harder to switch to paddles later on.

5. K5DH

K5DH Ham Member QRZ Page

VA3EX: Welcome to the wonderful world of Morse! Once you master the code, you'll really grow to love it.

For learning to send, which you'll probably be doing at home rather than in the field, buy a full-size key and get good with it. Once you've done that, switching to a smaller key for portable ops will be easy. Look for a cheap deal on a war surplus J-37 or J-38. There are plenty of 'em out there and they can be bought for $20 or less if you look a little. You should be able to find a decent deal on a used Speed-X key as well. Look around the hamfests. Shop eBay. Ask local hams. One of them might give or loan you a key just to help you get started.