What say you?

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio Equipment Reviews' started by K1RET, May 8, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. K1RET

K1RET Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm currently a Technician (studying for my General) who is still very very green (just got my call sign on 5 April) looking for advice on HF. I currently own an FT-8900R (my current base rig), a Baofeng UV-5RA and a TYT MD-380 DMR/Moto TRBO (UHF version).

My dream rig is an FT-991 but unless someone hands me a winning lottery ticket it's not in the cards right now (per the XYL). I have a budget of approximately 800.00 and looking for recommendations. My Elmer says to get something that already has a waterfall display on it...

73s

[​IMG]

2. W8JX

W8JX Ham Member QRZ Page

The need for a waterfall display is over rated. Focus on performance not eye candy that does nothing to enhance actual performance. (Eye candy is there to dazzle you and over look rigs short comings on a cheaper rig) For about 100 more or so you could get a used TS590 which is a solid rig. There are other good new and used rigs in 900 to 1000 dollar range too. It is cheaper to get close to what you want now rather than by something cheaper and sell it at a loss to upgrade to what you want costing you more over all.

N4NYK likes this.
  3. KS2G

KS2G Subscriber QRZ Page

Agree 100 percent!

Street prices for good condition used '590s have fallen to $875-$900.

Best bang-for-the-buck out there.

4. KC9UDX

KC9UDX Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber Life Member QRZ Page

If you start out with a bandscope out or waterfall display, you will always be dependent on them.

5. N0IU

N0IU Ham Member QRZ Page

Is that your budget for just the radio or for your entire station? No matter what you buy, you will need a power supply and of course, some type of antenna.