What is the best hf mobile.....

Discussion in 'On the Road' started by KB4MNG, Dec 21, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
  1. KB4MNG

KB4MNG Ham Member QRZ Page

What do you think the best hf mobile radio would be. I would like it to be fairly compact with an on board tuner. It probably will not be mounted permanently and transferred between vehicles. So I guess it does not have to be solely considered a mobile rig. I know many of you has experience in this area, any words of wisdom?
    Thanks Brian kb4mng

2. KG4NEL

KG4NEL Ham Member QRZ Page

KX3 with an outboard amp...

KU3X, KC6ZKT and K4YND like this.
  3. WD5ABC

WD5ABC Ham Member QRZ Page

I've been using an FT-857 for many years but since it doesn't have a tuner I use a small LDG Z100 tuner with it. It's also one of the few that has VHF/UHF all in one box. If the built-in tuner is a deal breaker, it's not for you but it's a very small box. It's about the size of an old CB.

Kerry
    WD5ABC

W4KSL likes this.
  4. W7LPN

W7LPN Ham Member QRZ Page

857D 10+ yrs barefoot with a HiQ Piranha 5" 80m with EB6 & whip. Many many reports of "Best mobile signal I've ever heard".

Attached Files:

5. AG4RT

AG4RT Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

A TS-480SAT meets your requirements. The control head is separate from the main body, so you can mount the main body of the radio under the seat or in the trunk and the small control head anywhere you want. It's not perfect because for some reason Kenwood chose to put the microphone connection on the main body and not on the control head. So you have to run the control head extension cable from the radio body to the control head and you have to run the microphone extension cable from the body to the operating position. To make the swap to another vehicle easier, it would be good to have a set of extension cables for each vehicle. Sounds like a pain, but it's a great radio.