what does it mean when the antenna tuner goes to bypass automatically on 10 &15 meter

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KN6JVS, Aug 10, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KN6JVS

KN6JVS XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Hello everyone , as the question implies , I'm a newbie @62 years old . I know I have not tunned the AV-680 properly , but have notice that on 10 meters and 15 meters when I press the tuner button on the IC-7300 , the LDG AT-100pro II tries to tune but goes to bypass and the light indicator stays on .

I just bought a Rigexpert aa55 and have lmr-600 coming that is shorter than the 100' of 213 coax the unit is using now.

I also noticed something that seems a bit odd , but the swr changes from day (heat ? ) and night .

thank you for your answers

Roman

2. W7UUU

W7UUU Super Moderator Lifetime Member 133 Administrator Volunteer Moderator Platinum Subscriber Life Member QRZ Page

The AV-680 is a multi-band trap vertical that if adjusted correctly for each band per the instructions should NOT need a tuner - at all! Possibly if you wanted to work the CW end and you had set it for SSB end on one band or another - but that would be a minor adjustment that your tuner could handle.

The whole point of the traps and adjustments on the antenna are to put it at resonance in the band segments you choose during assembly, thus not requiring any external tuner

It sounds to me like something is way off in the adjustment of the antenna itself.

Trap verticals can be fussy to adjust - every adjustment affects every other one.

Dave
    W7UUU

KF5KWO and AK5B like this.
  3. KA0HCP

KA0HCP XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Probably either common mode current on the feedline or simply RF overload causing the tuner circuits to trip.

-How much power?
    -How far from antenna to shack?