What Antenna Analyzer should I get for building my own antennas?

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KC9IZS, Jun 3, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
  1. KC9IZS

KC9IZS Ham Member QRZ Page

I plan on working the HF bands for the first time. I'm an electronics technician so I want to have fun and not just buy an antenna. So I am currently reading up on how to build antennas and my first antenna will be a dipole and I will be hanging it on two trees. I want to know what is the best Antenna Analyzer that would make building antennas fun and easy. My budget is $0 to $500. My goal is to build the antenna so I won't need a tuner. Also I would like an antenna analyzer that can work on 2m antennas as well since I plan on modifying my 2m mobile setup. Be it two different analyzers for HF and 2m or an all in on unit. Please let me know if anyone has any suggestions. Thank You!

2. KK4WMX

KK4WMX XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I've been happy using a Rigexpert AA-170 (covers 0 - 170 Mhz). Stand alone functions are good, but I get a lot of mileage out of the USB PC connection used with the supplied AntScope software. It adds TDR functionality as well as the ability to archive & compare SWR sweeps. It greatly expands on the built in functions.

Nick

3. KC5PKB

KC5PKB Ham Member QRZ Page

I could be wrong, but the conclusion I've come to is that any antenna analyzer that's cheaper than an antenna tuner isn't quite useful.

If you get a automatic tuner, make a half-wave center-fed dipole that's roughly resonant on the lowest band you want to operate, with correctly laid-out ladderline as your feedline, you'll be ahead money and time because it'll operate with 90%+ efficiency on all HF bands with only a 3-6 second matching time between band changes.

If I'm wrong, I welcome correction.

4. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page