What adapter (bullets) & Hardware must I buy to connect LDF4-50 Heliax to this BIRD?

Discussion in 'VHF/UHF - 50Mhz and Beyond' started by GM4BRB, Oct 13, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
  1. GM4BRB

GM4BRB Ham Member QRZ Page

1-5/8in UnFlg? (Unflanged)

It's on my Bird 8861 (8860 series of 1.5KW) Oil filled Dummy Resistor.

SN850922.jpg

I'm only an amateur not a Broadcast Pro.

BIRD 8861 (Load Resistor, 1.5kW, 1-5·8in UnFlg).jpg
    My Bird 8861. The 8860 Series - some have 'QC' (Quick-Change) 4-screw adapters, this don't I think.

SN850930.jpg
    A view of it on the shelves.

And I ain't no plumber neither, nor ...

2. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

I have exactly the same load with a type N connector on it.

They are changeable, but not "quick change" with four screws. You have to unscrew the whole flange at the clamp.

3. AA3EE

AA3EE Ham Member QRZ Page

That's a standard 1-5/8" EIA slip fitting, I have the same connector on my load. You can look for a slip to flange adapter, and then a 1-5/8 flange to N adapter (sometimes called a cone), or if you're really lucky, you can find a slip to N adapter. I have a few anchor insulators (aka bullets) if you need one, but I'm not giving up my adapters!

I've never seen a slip rigid to Heliax connector. Heliax to standard EIA flanges are pretty common, even up to 6", but they tend to match sized directly (1-5/8 Heliax to 1-5/8 flange, etc).

Good luck
    Dave AA3EE

4. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

Easier to find a new clamp-on flange with an N connector or something more common for amateur use.

Mine came with one, but I see them at the Swap Meet pretty often for $25-$30 or so, because that particular load is very common and popular.