WD4ELG QRP-in-the-field adventures, session #1

Discussion in 'QRP Corner' started by WD4ELG, Apr 3, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
  1. WD4ELG

WD4ELG Ham Member QRZ Page

Not new to the hobby, I have been doing DXing and mostly CW since 1977 as a teenager. But this portable QRP bug has bitten me hard. So I decided to jump in with both feet today. This is Session #1 notes.

Objectives:
    • Test out new ZM-2 antenna tuner
    • Try out random wire antenna with counterpoise (new antenna type for me)
    • Test my arbor line throwing skills (new tool)
    • Make notes for future field deployments
    • Make a few QSO's
    • Have some fun, learn some things
    Conditions/gear:
    • 50F, sunny and windy; backyard of my home QTH
    • FT-817ND with CW filter and BHI DSP module, Palm paddle
    • BioEnno LiFePO4 5 AH battery
    • Emtech ZM-2 tuner
    • 58 feet of landscaping electrical wire for radiator (acceptable length according to several articles)
    • 17 feet of landscaping electrical wire for counterpoise
    • Arbor's weight and 100 feet of line
    Steps taken:
    • Cut the insulated wires for the radiating element and counterpoise
    • Made several throws with the arbor's weight and line
    • Hooked up and verified all equipment working properly
    • Verified that all gear is functioning as expected
    Results:
    • I had fun, and learned some stuff
    • My arborist line-throwing skills need a lot of work; even after watching the YouTube videos, I could not get the weight higher than 50 feet...and the weight did not always travel in the direction I wanted it to. I need some practice.
    • Made a single QSO with W5TM on 20 CW
    • The tension on the aerial kept pulling the ZM-2 off the picnic table, so I had to loop the aerial around a wooden post on the deck
    • ZM-2 tuned the wire on 17, 20 and 30 but would not tune on 40