Waiting.........

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by K0MBT, Jan 18, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
  1. K0MBT

K0MBT Ham Member QRZ Page

I decided last Friday that I wanted to become a ham.

My exposure started in the 1960's when I was in the amateur radio club. In the early 70's I was an intercept radio equipment technician, later drifting into work with electromedical equipment. I switched careers out of electronics but still held a peripheral interest.

About 10 years ago I purchased a non working Collins R390A as I used to work on them. It was the top of the line military HF receiver of it's day. Mine still has the radium dials, something like 47 tubes, two IF stages.
    [​IMG]
    Still life got in the way..... and it still sits.

So last Friday as I mentioned I decided to see what it would take to get a license. I found an email to a local club president and he responded quickly to say "We are having a meeting Sunday come and take a test. He said plan on taking both Tech and General tests. I quickly downloaded the ARRL books on both licenses online and studied them, focusing on rules, antennas and transmitters.

I passed both of them and got my General ticket.

Have ordered the VHF and UHF Baofeng UV5R as a starter.
    Am hoping to find out soon.
    Is this the place I should be looking?
    http://wireless2.fcc.gov/UlsApp/UlsSearch/results.jsp

AF7XT, N0TZU, W7UUU and 2 others like this.
  2. AG6QR

AG6QR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Congratulations!

Yes, that's the place to look for your new license. Assuming you know your FRN, that's probably the least ambiguous way to look it up. Looking up by name should work, but it could return the license of someone else who shares your name, so at least verify the address.

N6QIC likes this.
  3. K0RGR

K0RGR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page