ad: portazero-1

W4GFZ

Discussion in 'Silent Keys / Friends Remembered' started by AF1G, Dec 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
  1. AF1G

AF1G Ham Member QRZ Page

In 1967, when I was 15 years old, my father was sent to Vietnam and my family took up residence in Columbia, SC for the year he would be absent.  Three houses up the street on the corner was an interesting home…. interesting because of the wires stretched across the yard in the trees, which all seemed to run into a small shed in the back yard where the man who lived there spent a lot of time.  I stopped by and introduced myself and found that he was a “Ham” radio operator.  He soon became my “Elmer” and started teaching me about Ham radio.  Using an old paper tape machine, I started learning the Morse code.  However, I was an impatient teenager and soon tired of the lessons and eventually stopped visiting him.

In 1981, I “rediscovered” Amateur Radio and became determined to obtain my ticket.  I enrolled in a Novice license course and soon passed the tests.  I was a Novice for a total of three days, receiving my Novice ticket in the mail on a Saturday, then traveling to the FCC field office in Kansas City the following Tuesday where I upgraded to Technician class.  The following month I returned to the field office and upgraded to General class, and a month or two later to Advanced class.