[Video] New UHF ISS Digipeater!

Discussion in 'Satellite and Space Communications' started by KG4AKV, Dec 15, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: l-BCInc
ad: L-Geochron
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
  1. KG4AKV

KG4AKV XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Please subscribe for more videos!
    https://www.youtube.com/SpaceComms1?sub_confirmation=1

Recently, the old VHF Ericsson handheld used for the digipeater on the ISS died and it was replaced with an equivalent UHF one. This is my first time digipeating through it.

I also tried to make my first APRS satellite contact. I successfully sent a message to the digipeater for another ham, KM4SYN, but he didn't receive it from the ISS. He did however receive one of my beacon packets and you can see me on his map.

The "Programming TH-D72 for ISS Digipeater" video will be uploaded next week.
    I made this recording on November 2nd, 2016, shortly after the UHF digipeater was activated.

Thanks for watching!

73, John Brier KG4AKV

The music at the end is Cybotron - Clear, a classic electro track.

2. K3RLD

K3RLD Ham Member QRZ Page

Ack... I just tried digipeating the ISS last night and that very last clip in your video is clearly at least one of my problems. I was using a cheap Baofeng HT + APRSdroid, but simply using the VFO to pick a single frequency for true simplex operation. I now realize that I need doppler in two directions (something I had not experienced needing for the FM satellites... which, btw, I still have not been successful in making a contact, either). But I guess I'll learn a little each time I try. I hope to make contact with you at some point, I really enjoy your youtube channel.

3. KG4AKV

Yeah, many FM sats are 2m up 70cm down and you don't have to tune on 2m since the doppler is only about 3khz.

Patrick WD9EWK has a frequency/memory pair chart for programming your radio here:

https://forums.qrz.com/index.php?threads/iss-digipeater-issues.541614/#post-4021696