VHF DUAL BAND INSTALLATION IN HONDA PILOT (2019)

Discussion in 'On the Road' started by N0FIM, May 10, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: l-gcopper
ad: L-MFJ
ad: QSOToday-1
ad: l-BCInc
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
  1. N0FIM

N0FIM Ham Member QRZ Page

I am new to vhf in our hobby and would like to put a mobile dual-band transceiver in my 2019 Honda Pilot. My concerns include comments by many that installing an Anytone or other type of radio in newer cars can cause all types of interference with car electronics. I was just believing that by wiring directly to the battery via fuses, that there should be no problem. Any comments on this subject before I go further in reviewing radios?

2. WS9K

WS9K Ham Member QRZ Page

GO FOR IT :)

I recommend a Yaesu, Kenwood, or Icom

run the 12v DC thru the firewall

3. K6CLS

K6CLS Ham Member QRZ Page

I bet your new car has a battery management system. Do not connect directly to the battery, because you will fool that system.

Also, car batteries these days are relatively low capacity and not deep cycle, so unsuitable for extended medium loads such as transmitters.

There's a bunch more to think about for a mobile installation. Hopefully others will chime in here.

What do I do? Use a separate battery for the radio, secured by seat belts (!), charged via cigar lighter; Run the coax through the door jamb to a roof magmount.

4. WA2EIO

WA2EIO XML Subscriber QRZ Page