Very frustrated with my HT / rooftop antenna. Any hints?

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KM6KCM, Jun 26, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: abrind-2
  1. KM6KCM

KM6KCM XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Hello everyone,

I'm dealing with a very frustrating HT / antenna issue, and I'm looking for advice on how to best troubleshoot it. Forgive me if I'm using incorrect technical jargon, since I'm still quite new at this.

Upon receiving my technician license in late April, I began transmitting to various local repeaters using a 5w Baofeng HT (BF-F8+) with a 16" Nagoya NA-771 dual band whip antenna. I'm in Sacramento, at the bottom of a valley surrounded by repeaters.

My first priority was to upgrade my antenna.

I installed an Arrow Antenna VHF/UHF open stub J-pole antenna mounted about 10' above the highest point of my roof. The antenna runs through 100' of LMR-400 to my study. Here's a shot of the antenna setup (I've since secured the coax and grounded the antenna).

My reception got a lot better at most of the repeaters I frequent, but it wasn't a 100% improvement -- I started hearing background FM music on one of my favorite repeaters, and reception got a lot worse on my other favorite repeater.

I got advice that I should upgrade my HT, since the Baofeng's "cheap, untuned" front end (quoting a ham on reddit) was having intermod issues.

I've since used both an Icom ID-51A Plus and a Kenwood Th-D72A at my home with my roof mounted antenna. The Icom reaches some repeaters better than the Baofeng or the Kenwood, and the Kenwood reaches other repeaters better than the Baofeng or the Icom. None of the three HTs I've used can reach all of the repeaters I want to use 100% of the time. These repeaters are all between 5 and 15 miles from my location.