Vertical dual band, what's best?

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by W0PWN, Jun 2, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-Geochron
ad: abrind-2
ad: HRDLLC-2
  1. W0PWN

W0PWN Ham Member QRZ Page

I realize that's somewhat of a tricky question. I lack the space for what some might call a proper vhf/uhf antenna. And I'm new to the ham world so I'm wondering if verticals like those from Diamond and Comet are better performing than say a J-pole (copper or twinlead cable)?
    Also.. am I right or wrong in thinking the biggest difference is gain?

73!

2. N8TGQ

N8TGQ Ham Member QRZ Page

No matter how much gain you have, VHF & UHF will only go a little beyond the horizon. Heighth is the easiest way to go farther.

3. VA3QY

VA3QY Ham Member QRZ Page

Personally, i prefer Slim-Jim. Field use and use in airfields where we are using it show a clear advantage. People may disagree. But between j-pole and slimjim; i would opt for 2nd.

4. W0PWN

And (correct me if Im wrong) but by slim-jim you mean the j-pole style that has the longer portion wrapping back down towards the shorter arm, right? Also if you are looking at a base station, would you use pipe or wire?

VA3QY likes this.
  5. W0PWN

Thanks for this... I am planning on going a bit higher.

6. AK5B

AK5B Ham Member QRZ Page

Apples and rotten oranges. Diamond and Comet and many others manufacture collinear VHF/UHF antennas with real gain (they are stacked 5/8th wave lengths that compress the pattern in the vertical plane), whereas j-poles are fraught with common-mode currents on the coax (part of how they radiate, essentially).