Using short wave to receive ft8

Discussion in 'Community Help Center' started by KI5CCI, Mar 20, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
  1. KI5CCI

KI5CCI Ham Member QRZ Page

I have a DX-394 (lw, mw, sw) receiver I'm a tech licensee is there a way I can log call signs I received so people can see where their signal has gone since I can't reply back as of yet. ( not general licensee no do I have hf rig)? -KI5CCI ( aka Alex)

2. KF5FEI

KF5FEI Ham Member QRZ Page

If you can tap the audio out, you can feed it to a PC with the FT8 software and decode the signals.

3. KI5CCI

oh i did that already i was able to receive many call signs this evening its epic to watch but i would like to let some of the senders know that i received their signal 73 -ki5cci

KA0HCP likes this.
  4. KA0HCP

KA0HCP XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Good job, Alex. What you want to do is called an "SWL Report" (short wave listener). You can do it several ways:

-Mail: Send a post card with the signal report. Look up the hams' address here on the Zed.
    -Logging programs; Take a look at the various logging/QSL services like: Zed, ARRL Log of the World, and EQSL. I'm not familiar with their SWL services.

Here is a sample SWL card:
    [​IMG]

W7UUU likes this.
  5. KI5CCI

ok i will look into it thank you for the guidance i am using a program wsjt-x (fantastic program) many of the signals barely come through and digs them out of the noise. im sure its obvious im a new ham less then 6 months as tech. but i have to say its becoming addicting to try and pick up weak signals. -73 -Alex KI5CCI

6. ND6M

ND6M Ham Member QRZ Page

here is a "real time" spotting program.

https://www.dxmaps.com/wsjtdxaggregator.html

7. VA3VF

VA3VF Ham Member QRZ Page

If you want to collect SWL/QSL cards, you must send them your card first, or use eQSL for online confirmations.