Upgraded to Extra

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by AF7XI, Feb 29, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
  1. AF7XI

AF7XI Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello All,

I'm brand new to ham radio, having passed my Tech and General earlier this month. While waiting (for what seemed like forever) for the FCC to issue my call, I began studying for my Extra. I'm pleased to report that I passed yesterday. So now I'm filled with all sorts of theoretical knowledge and looking forward to applying it practically.

First effort is an external antenna (likely a Diamond X-50) for my house so I can get some extra "reach" for my FT-60R. I purchased a mobile mount for my truck but want to be able to more effectively hit my local distant repeaters from inside my house. Interestingly, my Baofeng UV82HPs seem to have a bit more pop with the installed Nagoya whip than my FT-60R does with it's installed Diamond SRH77CA. It could just be the extra couple W of TX power.

I am prioritizing my antenna ahead of a base rig just so I can get my feet on the ground. Plus, I've had decent success with my HTs and want to take the time to research if I want a dual band base or something I can use for HF and beyond. I've much to learn and in the meantime I am studying up on proper ham etiquette and Q-codes so I don't clog the airwaves!

N6QIC, K7TRF, KA9JLM and 1 other person like this.
  2. N3UIQ

N3UIQ Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Congrats on your Extra, I just passed my test Saturday, welcome to adventure!
    Bob
    N3UIQ

AF7XI and N6QIC like this.
  3. AF7XI

AF7XI Ham Member QRZ Page

Thank you Bob, and congratulations to you as well!

I've made a fair number of contacts in the past 3 days, using our local healthy repeater network. I'm already itching to venture beyond 2m/440, which means I've got to chunk down on the appropriate rig!

N6QIC likes this.
  4. KW4EK

KW4EK Ham Member QRZ Page