UPGRADE from IC-761 to WHAT ???

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio Equipment Reviews' started by KS2K, May 2, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KS2K

KS2K Ham Member QRZ Page

I have been using my ICOM IC-761 for many years with happy results. However its getting older and technology as leaped far ahead of the IC-761. Being a older ham 77, I like the IC-761 as to has no
    menus to deal with. Everything is on the front panel. I hate menus….

Is there any much newer Transceiver offered by Icom, Yeasu or Kenwood that has new technology
    yet few to no menus, all controls on the front. I did locate a Yeasu FT 1000mp, features and specs sound good, but is there that much difference stepping up from the IC-761 to the Yeasu FT1000mp ?

I appreciate all your thoughts on upgrading from the IC-761

KS2K

2. W5IEI

W5IEI Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

I have a 761 also,and upgraded to a 7700.
    I love it.
    There are menus,but mostly set once and forget.
    Important stuff is knobs.
    Mike

3. G3YRO

G3YRO Ham Member QRZ Page

Personally, I've not been impressed by the actual performance of any of the later rigs . . . and I certainly don't want a big screen cluttering up the front panel of the rig !

What rig you choose is all about the functionality that you perdonally desire.

When I decided to get a synthesized/wideband rig, after a lot of research (including chatting to former owners) I decided on a Kenwood TS-930S. One of the things I really like is the fact that you can alter the SSB bandwidth from either side of the passband, using concentric knobs . . . ie you can bring the highside in, or the lowside in, or both. I think this is a better arrangement than on the FT1000 (which I had considered, but rejected).