Understanding the Reverse Beacon Network and db

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by KE0EYJ, Sep 27, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. KE0EYJ

KE0EYJ Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm new to the reverse beacon network and have been reading about db, here:

http://kf6hi.net/radio/SNR.html

What I'm still trying to wrap my head around is my signal report out of JA on 40m. I'm in Korea as HL1ZIX, so I'm around 587 miles away. My antenna is a full wave 40m loop at 18m above ground.

I'm transmitting CQ in CW at 0 watts (which is 700mw on the Icom 7300). I'm still getting a report of 15db out of JO1YYP, 587 miles away My current noise floor is s8, with no attenuation -- his probably less.

So that means I'm about 2.5 S-units above the noise floor at that CW skimmer at 700mw?

Thanks.

2. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

Sure, why not?

I've related this before, but last year very late at night on 20 CW I worked Bulgaria with about 3 mW (to a beam, and he had a beam also, but propagation did almost all the work). He had more attenuators than I had and was able to QRP to about 250 microwatts, and I still copied him.

Back about 15 years ago, I worked K2RTH/4 in Florida on 6m and propagation was so good he was literally pinning my S-meter, so Bruce and I both QRP'd...and kept doing that until we lost each other. But before we lost each other, we were both down to less than 10 milliwatts...and that's at 50 MHz, over a distance of 2500 miles.

On 40m, at night when the band's good I've worked the U.S. east coast on CW lots of times with <1W. 3000 miles per Watt is no kind of record at all, not even close. FT8 is probably better, but I didn't have it.

3. KE0EYJ

What are you trying to do here... make me more excited about CW than I already am. ;)