ad: elecraft

TYT MD-2017 Dual Band DMR and MFJ-849 Digital SWR Watt Meter Reviews K6UDA Radio Episode 55

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by K6UDA, Jun 30, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
  1. K6UDA

K6UDA XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Curiosity got the best of me. I finally ordered a DMR handheld radio and picked the new TYT MD-2017 UHF/VHF DMR Analog unit. I've never used a DMR radio before and wanted to see if an average guy could program it and get on the air.How does DMR compare to D-Dstar? I also got a new digital SWR /Power meter from MFJ just in time for Field Day. This is the MFJ-849 Digital SWR/Watt Meter. What do I think of it?
    EP 55 DMR first timer.jpg

2E0PRG and K3SZ like this.
  2. ZL1PDT

ZL1PDT Ham Member QRZ Page

Very nice I did like the FIELD DAY it is in a field what is the use of a field day and you are in big wall stuff
    keep it up be in THE FIELD for Field day!! do enjoy your program from down here oi the far south nearly down under,
    Pieter,ZL1PDT,73

3. K0UO

K0UO Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

Bob thanks for the review nicely done, I've been playing with all three digital modes but I agree with you using the Kenwood or Icom radios D-star is much more easily managed. And I'm an old Motorola guy! SEE YOU ON 7155
    K0UO Steve

4. N3HKN

N3HKN Ham Member QRZ Page