ad: hrd-2

Twisted Pair Feedlines - Some Practical Answers!

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by G3NJV, Jan 18, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-Geochron
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
  1. G3NJV

G3NJV Ham Member QRZ Page

Over the years many QRZ threads have visited the topic of twisted pair feedlines. Few of these threads have provide really informed answers. I have some practical experience and results I hope will prove useful.

It all started with summer games testing Vertical versus Delta Loop versus Moxon on the back lawn. The Moxon won hands down. My 17m Moxon was designed with Moxgen and made with wet string and bamboos cut from my garden here in extreme south west England, where a brisk westerly wind coats your teeth in salt from the nearby ocean. All the following information relates to 17m but you can use whatever frequency you want in the calculations.

My Moxon was made to "fly" suspended by a cord under some trees in my garden. The feedline hangs down from the driven element and weight is a big issue, both for feeder and avoidance of putting a balun at the feedpoint. I used 1 square mm PVC insulated wire with OD = 2.24mm to make twisted pair balanced feedline. Two inches from the antenna socket of my rig I put the feedline 4 turns through 10 stacked ferrite toroids to make a choke balun. SWR was 3:1. The IC-736 tuner coped and I had good contacts.

Later, investigating the SWR, I realised it was caused by the feedline not being 50 ohm. Assuming the Moxon was its designed 50 ohm the SWR suggested the feeder was maybe either x3 (150 ohms) or divide by 3 (17 ohms). It didn't really matter, so long as the feeder was electrically a multiple of half waves long the antenna impedance could be transformed accurately to the rig.