Tuner Puzzle - Balanced Line MFJ 974HB Tuner and Cobra UltraLite Senior Doublet

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by W4PSA, Mar 15, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. W4PSA

W4PSA Ham Member QRZ Page

I am a newer operator looking for advice on what may be a matching problem between my 140' doublet and a new MFJ 974HB balanced line tuner. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

I purchased a an MFJ 974HB balanced line Johnson type tuner and am unable to get it to operate at all (both SWR and power meter needles only move slightly when attempting to tune). I have been using a Deluxe Versa Tuner 949E and can get it to work when I swap out antenna tuners. I have followed the instruction manual's adjustment procedures and am unable to get the tuner to show any more than 5 watts power output across the 2 bands I tried, 40 and 80 meters. I verified the power and SWR readings with an external meter. I have opened the case and checked solder connections inside the tuner for continuity and all appears to be OK.

Station Equipment:
    *Kenwood TS440S AT Radio with internal tuner switched to Pass Thru mode with 3’ RG58 coax jumper to radio
    *Cobra UltraLite Senior multi-band doublet antenna (160 – 10 meters, 140’) suspended 45’ above ground with 81’ of 450 ohm ladder line feed to the balanced posts on tuner. The product brochure says that the Cobra normally works like a 3.5 Mhz doublet but also has linear-loaded responses on 2.8 Mhz and 160 meters.

(matching instructions from MFJ tuner manual are attached to this thread as a PDF file)

Station and antenna grounding to ground rods in soil 10’ away

Tuner Settings:
    *Coax Wire Switch Set to balanced line
    Tried all antenna, inductor and transmitter settings per preset table in manual
    All tuner settings tried with less than 100 watts output power from radio

Thanks!

Russ Adams, W4PSA

Attached Files:

2. KF5FEI