Tuner confusin

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KE0WXN, Dec 11, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
  1. KE0WXN

KE0WXN Ham Member QRZ Page

Please be merciful, I'm new to this. I was a ham in the ancient past and came back to the hobby late and I miss my old 'Elmer'.

I got a new IC 7300, A vertical multi band antenna and a MFJ 939. I did my best to tune the antenna and get it up and working. I seem to do best on 20M and I am able to get it to work reasonably well. My issue is the automated antenna tuner and meter in the IC 7300. I get to a frequency and hit the MFJ tune button. It clicks and then lights a green SWR. I click the tune button on the 7300 and it shows 'tune'. If you check the meter and graph almost anything will show up. I went into the set section and tried auto and manual and get radically different SWR numbers. The MFJ manual and the ICOM manuals seem to have different answers.

Oh BTW, this thing has an odor. I am never using more than 20 W because I am concerned that I smell output transistors (or is that old school?)

I know that the two automatic systems are connected by the cable and I checked to see that MFJ sent the ICOM cable. What I can't figure out is a system that is reliable and a procedure order that is safe and effective.

Any help out there?
    Elmer?

Sam

2. K7TRF

K7TRF Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I'd probably start here. What multi-band vertical antenna are you running? What do you have for radials and what kind of match do you see when it's tuned for each band without any tuners in line?