Tube rig "tuning" question

Discussion in '"Boat Anchor" & Classic Equipment' started by AA4OO, Feb 11, 2018.

Tags:
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: l-assoc
  1. AA4OO

AA4OO XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I'm new to tube rigs.

Sorry if this is a "basic" question but

Can someone explain to me the purpose of the preselector, final tune and load levers to peak the RF output?

My "transistorized" rigs simply transmit into a 50 Ohm load. I use an external impedance matching device if I my antenna is not 50 Ohm.

Why were tube rigs designed with all these variable capacitors? I understand (I think) that it is doing a bit of impedance matching like a "tuner" normally would, but is there something special about tube finals that differ from a transistorized final to require all this matching?

Just trying to learn...

Richard AA4OO

2. KP4SX

KP4SX Subscriber QRZ Page

They covered a range outside of simply 50 ohms fixed. Most could easily tune into loads of 2 or 3:1 swr with no problem. 50-600 ohms was a typical spec.
    Trying to load outside of this range with an external tuner gets a bit more complicated and that's why they invented dummy loads :) Get the rig tuned first and then do the tuner.
    That's the short version. Im sure others will explain why in more detail.

3. AA4OO

Ok. So I think you're saying that, the tube rig finals don't have a fixed 50 ohms output. Depending on output frequency, there will be different output impedance. So the variable caps are there to match the radio's own variable load to the expected 50 ohm antenna.

Is that understanding correct?

I just found this article today and it was helpful to me.

https://www.w8ji.com/tuned_input_circuit.htm

Last edited: Feb 11, 2018
  4. KP4SX

KP4SX Subscriber QRZ Page