TS-530S Tuneup & RF in Shack

Discussion in '"Boat Anchor" & Classic Equipment' started by KB1RHB, Dec 10, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KB1RHB

KB1RHB Ham Member QRZ Page

Newbie here. Watched several videos on youtube, and a couple of websites
    about topic. Some questions -

Note antenna is ~ 130 feet longwire, end fed in shack thru short (3 feet) section coax.
    I keep CAR control to ~ 10 W in TUNE mode when peaked. CAR control ~ 20%
    from CCW position.

I have checked rig V, screen, seems to be close to spec in service manual. I
    also repaired 5 ohms Cathode R's (I burned them up in CW mode, lesson
    learned). Plate V also seems in spec, 10%.

Tuneup (TUNE mode) -

1) The peak and dip seems to work fine on 160, 80, above that
    peaks fine but no dip with PLATE control, in fact a pronounced
    peak just like the DRIVE control when adjusting the PLATE control.

2) 160, 80 LOAD significant effect just like DRIVE, higher bands LOAD fairly small
    effect.

RF in Shack -

I have a small wall wart powered PC speaker on my PC. When RF is in
    shack it causes a buzz in speaker. Also my oscilloscope probe will pick up
    RF if probe anywhere near short run of coax to wire.

1) I assume this is due to antenna, 1 wavelength long, has highest E field at end
    of wire, feed point.

2) If I feed as center fed dipole this problem goes away ?

3) End fed like this do I have to be concerned about fire where wire comes close to
    house and/or passes under the window sill into the shack ? Due to arcing (I have not
    seen any yet) like on a humid day and house siding wet.

This is a tad long winded, and thanks for help in advance.

Regards, Dana.

2. KA9JLM

KA9JLM Ham Member QRZ Page

My guess is that you need the other half of the antenna.

A counterpoise.

2) If I feed as center fed dipole this problem goes away ? = Yes

Good Luck.

3. WR2E

WR2E Ham Member QRZ Page