ad: HamInsurance-1

Trying to get a Tandy 1000HX running

Discussion in 'Computers, Hardware, and Operating Systems' started by NZ2N, Mar 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: QSOToday-1
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
  1. NZ2N

NZ2N Ham Member QRZ Page

I picked up a Tandy 1000HX for $5 (probably $4 too much) with the idea that I could find programs for it online, put them on floppy, and mess around with it a bit. I can find the programs but that is about as far as it goes. I can copy them to a floppy but the Tandy doesn't see them. I'm not 100% confident that the copying process is working correctly because from time to time Windows asks if I want to format the disk then if I say yes it says it can't. I tried it with Ubuntu too and although I didn't get the format problem the Tandy still couldn't read the disk. I'm kind of new at this, any ideas about what I could be doing wrong? I'm guessing this is a DOS thing but I really don't know.

2. KB8UFP

KB8UFP Ham Member QRZ Page

Your floppy drive is broken. Either the one that is copying the programs TO the floppy disk, or the one on the old Tandy, or both.

Floppy drives typically last a year or two at the most (EVEN LESS IF ITS NEVER USED!!!) Replacement drives are about $2 at most computer shows/Internet, or less than $20 at a cpu store.

The other possibility is that the old tandy is so old that it has a low density floppy drive vs. your high density floppy drive.

If its that old then it won't support a new drive (all are high density), so your better off getting your $5 by taking a sledgehammer to it in the name of Peter Gibbons.

The HD floppies started coming out circa 1990-1993ish, so thats how you can tell.

3. NZ2N

NZ2N Ham Member QRZ Page

Now that you mention it, this floppy drive has always seemed a bit quirky. I'll swap it out and see what happens.

I believe the Tandy has a low density drive so I'll look into that problem too.