Trying to figure out this computer/radio thing. LOL

Discussion in 'Computers, Hardware, and Operating Systems' started by N4FFL, Feb 21, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: FBNews-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
  1. N4FFL

N4FFL Ham Member QRZ Page

Hey all,

If someone could give me some general guidance to this, I would appreciate it. As you can tell, I'm new to amateur radio. I just passed my Tech & General license, but there are still some things I don't quite understand. I have a Kenwood TS-2000 transceiver and am looking to do mainly DX. I don't know CW as of yet (I'm going to work on learning), however, I was wondering if there is a way to connect a computer (I have a Mac, but can run Win10 on it too) to send and receive CW (on the CW parts of the band, of course)?

It seems to me like their should be a way, but I'm not sure. I also saw a site or info on "Winkeyer", but nothing ever said exactly how to connect the computer up to the transceiver to do this.

As a side note, I do have a serial cable to connect my Mac to my transceiver (USB to female DB9), so is that all I would need to send CW via a computer to the transceiver and receive it back?

I'm also considering getting MacLoggerDX as I was hoping for something to log my DX QSOs on and it also says that it is compatible with Winkeyer and I know there is a MacWinKeyer program out there as well, but I just want to make sure that would be all I need or do I have to have some other interface between the computer and the transceiver to send and receive CW through the Mac?

Any help would be appreciated!
    Mat

2. AG6QR

AG6QR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

There are many ways to send CW using a computer. I've done it using an Arduino and the K3NG keyer software, but there are other choices.