Trouble working satellite ID5100

Discussion in 'Satellite and Space Communications' started by G0MGM, Mar 4, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: FBNews-1
  1. G0MGM

G0MGM XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Hello

I'm new to working satellites. I have got an Elk antenna and I'm trying to use my ID5100 in the car to work satellites. So far I have been listening to the passes of AO85 with some success, but when I try to transmit I dont hear anything back.

I have set up the memories on the ID5100 for uplink starting on 435.170 then 5kHz steps up to 435.190 and each has a Tone freq of 67Hz. I have another memory set up for the downlink on 145.980. Power set to Mid 15w.

During the passes I am getting up to S7 on the radio so good signal levels I think.

I have set the Rx on VFO A and the Tx on VFO B and the squelch wide open on the VFO A.

Are there any other settings to setup on the radio? I read on the Amsat site that radio should be set to 5KHz deviation which equates to 25KHz channel spacing?

Hope someone can help.

Rob G0MGM

2. W5PFG

W5PFG Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I wonder if there is a menu setting that mutes the opposing band when you are transmitting. I know this is the case on some other Icoms.

I've debated on buying one of these rigs but I don't need it.

3. G0MGM

Hi thanks for the reply.

No its not muting, as I could hear the noise in my headphones as I transmitted.

Another thought that came to my head was I am using FM and not FM-N which according to the manual is 2.5kHz deviation, is that correct?

Rob G0MGM

4. N8HM

N8HM Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

15 watts to an Elk might be a little low for AO-85. Try it on high power. Also, you should start on 160 or 165 and move up to 180 through the end of the pass.

You also will probably want to tune your receiver down to 145.975 MHz near the end of the pass.

5. G0MGM

I will give that a try.

Thanks

Rob G0MGM

6. G0MGM