Trouble Getting to UHF Repeaters

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KE8QYV, Feb 22, 2021 at 10:47 PM.

Tags:
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: QSOToday-1
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Subscribe
  1. KE8QYV

KE8QYV Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello, I am new to HAM Radio, just passed the Technical exam last week. I have BAOFENG UV-5R connected to a TRAM-1480 Dual Band antenna mounted outside. I ordered a TYT TH-9800 today, so that should get here on Friday. I have no problems connecting to the VHF Repeaters nearby with the UV-5R. I was trying to get on one for IRLP access that is about 18 miles away and although I was connected, I did an echo test and couldn't understand parts of my test message, so I decided to skip it. Either way, I was impressed I was able to connect and interact with the IRLP node with my little UV-5R. There is another VHF repeater about 13 miles away I can talk on and have a couple of pretty clear conversations. I found a UHF IRLP repeater about 13 miles away (same town as the VHF repeater I connect to), but I cannot connect to it for the life of me. I tried a few other close by UHF repeaters and nothing. Not even an acknowledgement from the repeaters. I am pretty sure I am setting them up right since I have no problems in the VHF band. I have never even heard anything from a UHF repeater when scanning, except on a couple I have heard some digital sounding noises.

So... I am just curious if there is anything that stands out that I could be missing? It just seems odd I have no problems in the VHF band but nothing in the UHF band. I could wait until Friday when I get my new radio to see if it's related to the UV-5R, but I thought I would throw it out there and see what some more experienced folks have to say.

Thanks!

Ken Fitzpatrick
    KE8QYV

KA0HCP likes this.
  2. N7WR

N7WR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page