ad: M2Ant-1

total newbie question 2m & 70cm

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by KB3TZJ, Feb 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KB3TZJ

KB3TZJ Ham Member QRZ Page

just got into the great world of amature radio past the tech now studying for the General wanna get it by June. question is as a tech on 2 meters using voice what is the standard range and active freq's to use. also on 70cm what are the freqeuncies i can use voice on, what would be like active call freq's. and what type of equipment is needed to function properly in the mobile. thanks

2. KB3TZK

KB3TZK Ham Member QRZ Page

KB3TZJ, I'm in similar situation to yours except that I passed tech and general both on the same day. Still, right now I'm using a HT to get on VHF/UHF. HF is going to come later... when I figure out how to set up a decent antenna in my attic.

I can't answer the question about mobile equipment because I have not done that yet.

But regarding the frequencies:

1. Check the ARRL chart to see which frequencies are allocated to amateurs within the bands you want to get on:

http://www.arrl.org/FandES/field/regulations/bands.html

I've printed their color version and have it displayed in my "shack". I've also programmed my VX-6R to work within the bands it supports and which are also legal for amateurs.

2. Check the ARRL band plans:

http://www.arrl.org/FandES/field/regulations/bandplan.html

These will tell you where to expect CW, SSB, FM, repeaters, digital modes, etc.

3. As you can see in the band plans, repeaters are usually set to operate on certain frequency ranges but the actual frequencies on which you'll find repeaters changes from place to place. I know you are in MD (I looked up your call sign). You should check out TMARC's list of repeaters:

http://www.tmarc.org/index_files/Page403.html