Too much noise to copy phone/voice on FT857D

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by K5CDR, Aug 28, 2015.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
  1. K5CDR

K5CDR Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi all and thanks for your advice and help.

I'm a new HF MARS operator (yes I am permitted to transmit on those bands and I will have a general ticket mailed soon enough).

I have two radios with HF capabilities - both Yaesu FT-817ND and the FT-857D, both with filters and TXCO with the BHI DSP that is a W4RT upgrade on the 817. I do not use a tuner with it as I have a 10/20/40 Trail Friendly antenna that seems to receive quite well without a tuner with minimal to no VSWR. Now the 857D, does have an LD Z100 tuner and the optional FT-Meter. What I find odd, is that with my current antenna system (the best I can muster with an HOA and an 1/8 an acre with much less in the back), I have a Chameleon EmComm II in an inverted L to permit some NVIS use across two fiberglass poles. I am not using a counterpoise because many say you really don't need one on an endfed zepp design since the coax will become the counterpoise. I digress to say I only have access for this antenna an 18ft RG-8X cable and the feed line has to rise about 3 ft to meet the bottom of the EmComm II. I do not have the space for a sloper either and I am aware the band conditions are absolutely terrible across the HF spectrum.