ad: M2Ant-1

Titanic sinking SOS simulation, no place for a novice here!

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by W9RAC, Jun 9, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Subscribe
  1. W9RAC

W9RAC Subscriber QRZ Page

This is a cool link of a simulation of the message sent out from the Titanic. I'm not sure of the speed its way over my ability to copy accurately. I suspect he was in a real hurry! Looks like it had a 5KW station and operated on 500 KHz. Can you even imagine being on the receiving end of such a message. Very cool but sad. 73 Rich

Last edited: Jun 9, 2019
  2. W9RAC

3. W9RAC

4. WB5WPA

WB5WPA Ham Member QRZ Page

Think about this for just a millisecond, how many ops of the day could be EFFECTIVE on a frequency like 500 kHz let alone something even lower, in 1912?

I think it was other commercial ops of the day, being called "amateur" or unprofessional might be a better term maybe?

W5BIB and KA0HCP like this.
  5. W9RAC

I'm sure it was a mess. I can't even imagine stumbling across a mayday call with such importance. The equipment of the day surely was lacking so I'm not surprised of the mixed up reports or the like. Some of the reporting was eventually in err at sea also. Not sure what the quality of CW being send may have been under the pressure of the situation either. Very interesting information. 73 Rich

WB5WPA likes this.
  6. M6GYU

M6GYU Ham Member QRZ Page

I have absolutely no idea how fast the operators on the Titantic sent their distress message.

The following two links are recordings of real recordings of real SOS's and include much of the follow up traffic from both shore stations and other ships. One outcome resulted in all being rescued and the other resulted in only 3 being saved.

https://archive.org/details/SosMsPrinsendamOctober41980
    https://archive.org/details/SsMarineElectricWoohSos