ad: elecraft

Time To Change The Contest Rules

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by VE3II, Mar 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: Left-2
  1. VE3II

VE3II XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I appreciate that this is a very old debate and a tender point for the majority of amateurs today. The issue that I want you to consider is not whether contesting has a place in amateur radio but rather how contesting effects non-contest stations. I want you to also consider if there is a compromise that could be reached by the contest sponsors, namely CQ magazine and the ARRL, and non-contest amateurs.

First, let me say that I am by no means anti-contest. I have participated in the Field Day Contest since before I was a licenced amateur, some 33 years ago, but that’s another story. I have certificates on my walls from contests in which I have participated and I continue to contest from time to time. In my opinion, contests are as much a part of amateur radio as rag chewing and the National Traffic System.

The purpose of this article is to attempt to effect a change in the way that the contests are structured, so that all amateurs, on all bands, can co-exist during a contest weekend.

After a contest weekend, CQ Magazine or the ARRL receive a flood of complaints about guys causing QRM on a frequency or about the way a contest participant was operating and how broad he was. The contest sponsors admit that they get a lot of complaints but the same thing happens again after the next major contest. I would think that after the number of years that the sponsors have been holding these contests, they might begin to recognize a pattern and take some action. However, nothing ever happens and the arrogance and flagrant operating by some contesters continues.