Time sync where there's no/no reliable internet.

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by ON6KE, Sep 11, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
  1. ON6KE

ON6KE Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello everyone,
    I'm primarily a CW operator but conditions being what they are I now also spend time on FT8. I'm considering travelling to places where internet is either none existent, not reliable or outrageously expensive.

I'm therefore looking at a plug and play GPS time receiver to keep PC time always correct. I need PPS (pulse per second) to guarantee proper time sync.
    Garmin has their GPS-16x LVC GPS-18x LVC but they're open ended which means soldering thin wires some of them of the same colour albeit with a different colour shade onto both an RS-232 and a USB port, the RS-232 for signalling, the USB port for 5V DC.

Too much trouble for my old eyes, can't be bothered with that anymore. I'd like a plug and play PPS protocol device with a RS-232 connector, with accompanying software, full stop.

I checked the internet, pff.. found a few devices but we're talking a few thousand US$.
    Does anyone have info on a plug and play device costing less than a few hundred US$?

Thank you.
    73, good DX

2. KV4PD

KV4PD Ham Member QRZ Page

3. W2JKT

W2JKT Ham Member QRZ Page

KA4DPO and NL7W like this.
  4. KP4SX

KP4SX XML Subscriber QRZ Page

NL7W likes this.
  5. KA0HCP

KA0HCP XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I had an internet outage last month and had success manually synching my computer clock manually using the audible sounds start from the massed FT8 signals.

FT8 was usable with around 1 second time difference, FT4 needed closer to a half second. With a couple tries I could easily get the time difference to with about 0.6 seconds and decode nearly all signals on a crowded band.

Alternatively, a cell phone clock could be used as the reference for a manual time hack.

WA8FOZ likes this.
  6. SM0AOM